Happy National Boyfriend’s Day

Misty Rae
3 min readOct 3, 2022

Because Husbands Can Be Boyfriends, Right?

Photo Courtesy Of The Author

So, apparently, it’s National Mean Girls Day and national Boyfriends Day. Personally, I think the idea of a Mean Girls Day is stupid. I get it’s about the 2004 movie, but to me glorifying horrible little brats that terrorize others is a bad idea. Here’s an idea, how about a national being mean is lame day?

Whatever, that’s all I have to say about that. So, I’ll focus on something more positive.

Alongside the meanies, it’s also Boyfriends’ Day. I’ll write about that because I have the best one. Husbands count, right?

Well, mine does. Why not, he was my boyfriend first and in many ways he still is.

We’ve known each other for 36 years. We met in French class in grade 10. I was in grade 10, he’ll tell you he was in grade 11, he wasn’t, when you fail most of the classes the year before, you don’t move to the next one.

Anyway, he was gorgeous and I was instantly in love. Him, not so much. It took him an entire year to notice me. We dated for a while, broke up, got back together 4 years later for a week, broke up and then reconnected 20 years later.

As the old saying goes, the third time’s a charm. The arrogant, pretty on the outside, terrified boy I once knew and who broke my heart over and over again…

--

--

Misty Rae

6X Top Writer. Former legal eagle. Wife, mother, nature lover, chef, writer and all-around free spirit . https://ko-fi.com/mistyrae