Hey, New York Post…Fuck Off !

From The Fine Folks of Canada!

Misty Rae

--

From NYP Twitter Feed, June 8, 2023 (https://twitter.com/nypost/status/1666754988335329280/photo/1)

Scrolling Twitter today, this is what I see trending. “Blame Canada.” It’s trending and it comes courtesy of the New York Post.

The air quality in New York is really bad. It’s bad in Philly. It’s bad in Minnesota and Washington, DC. I get that sucks.

You know where else the air quality is bad? In Canada where our country is literally on fire! From coast to coast, unprecedented wildfires are gobbling up forests.

I’m sitting in Northern Ontario. I’m safe. But there are 5 fires within a 3 hour radius of where I sit. We’re getting smoke from them, plus from the fires in Quebec.

The east coast, where I grew up, particularly Nova Scotia and New Brunswick are experiencing wildfires.

There are fires out west.

This is no laughing matter. The poor air quality isn’t funny. And you know what else isn’t funny, people who have lost their homes, people who have lost their pets, their businesses.

But the New York Post apparently thinks it fucking hilarious to “Blame Canada”

I don’t recall Canada or any Canadian media outlet posting shit like “Blame Ohio” when we got the drift from the tragic train derailment. You know why, because we’re not dicks like that. We know that there are actual human costs involved in such disasters.

I love my American friends. I love New York. But this Blame Canada shit got me heated! In this age of sensitivity, you’d think maybe there’d be a passing thought to those devastated by these fires. But no, just poke fun, right? Hope you got a whole lot of traffic. In the meantime, I got a new hashtag for ya, #FuckOff NYPFromCanada. Anyone wanna help me make it trend?

--

--

Misty Rae

6X Top Writer. Former legal eagle. Wife, mother, nature lover, chef, writer and all-around free spirit . https://ko-fi.com/mistyrae