Mama’s Last Gift

Misty Rae
3 min readSep 23, 2022

30-Day Writing Challenge #9

Me, age 5 months (Photo property of the author

I’m not officially entered in Refresh The Soul’s 30-Day Writing Challenge that Nancy Blackman came up with.

I just found out about it a couple days ago when reading one of Courtney Capone’s stories. I suppose I could frantically play catch-up to make up for my tardiness, but, meh.

So instead, I’m just choosing to respond to the prompts in the challenge that speak to me and this one does:

9 Write about your name. Who named you and why? Does your name have meaning?

Before I continue, I do have to give Courtney a special shout-out because it was her story about her name that got me thinking that I should share my own tale. Here’s her story:

--

--

Misty Rae

6X Top Writer. Former legal eagle. Wife, mother, nature lover, chef, writer and all-around free spirit . https://ko-fi.com/mistyrae